How Do Car Wreck Settlements Work in Georgia?
If you have been in a car wreck, we understand that there is a lot to worry about. Sometimes it is difficult to know where to begin. Most car wreck cases in Georgia will not go to trial, but will settle instead. The settlement process can be complicated, but with the right attorney by your side, you’ll be guided through quickly and easily.
Legal Obligations After the Incident
In Georgia, the law requires you to report an accident immediately if there is an injury or fatality, or if there is property damage that exceeds $500. It is also a legal obligation to exchange your personal and insurance information, offer assistance in getting any injured parties medical help, and remain at the scene of the accident until law enforcement arrives.
You are also required to carry certain amounts of minimum liability insurance in Georgia. Some of these coverage amounts are:
- $25,000 for property damage
- $25,000 for the injury or fatality of one person, which could cover yourself, a passenger or another party
- $50,000 for the injury or fatality of more than one person in a single incident
Car Wreck Settlements in Georgia
A settlement is the conclusion of a case once a mutual agreement between both parties has been established. Most car wrecks will settle instead of going to trial because trial can often be a risky move when settlement can still offer the benefits of winning in trial.
There is not a statewide requirement for settlement conferences in Georgia. However, cases are often settled by using a neutral third party, such as an attorney, who can mediate the settlement process.
Statute of Limitations and Payment
There is no specific amount that you will be paid after your car wreck settlement, but there are certain factors that can influence how big your reward will be. Some of these factors include:
- Medical bills
- Pain and suffering
- Car repairs
- Insurance coverage
- Lost wages due to time away from work
In Georgia, there is a statue of limitations, or a time limit, for how long you have to file a claim. For personal injury, the limit is two years from the date of the car wreck, or four years for property damage.
How We Can Help
Settlements are typically binding, and cannot be changed, so it is important that you have experienced legal representation during this time. Zdrillich Law Group has the experience necessary to help you get the money you deserve. Learn more about how we can help you and schedule a free consultation. You have options. Let’s explore what is best for you and your case.