Georgia Car Insurance Requirements
Choosing the right car insurance policy may seem overwhelming. While you probably have many options when it comes to choosing an insurance company and coverage limits, there are a few things that your insurance coverage must provide in order for you to drive legally in Georgia.
Top of the list when securing state-minimum coverage is liability insurance. This coverage will compensate for any damage to another motorist’s vehicle in a wreck that you cause.
There are two types of liability coverage required in Georgia:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person, $50,000 for multiple people injured in a wreck
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000 for one wreck or incident
If you have financed or are leasing your vehicle, the company or bank that holds your vehicle’s title will require you to carry comprehensive insurance. This coverage is intended for damage to the vehicle that does not come from a wreck, such as vandalism or weather damage.
Comprehensive coverage is not mandatory under Georgia law, but it will likely be necessary until you pay your vehicle off.
Providing Proof of Insurance
A paper insurance card is not enough proof that you have car insurance in Georgia. Instead of asking for you to present a physical card, law enforcement officers reference an electronic database called the Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS).
Your insurance company is responsible to provide details of your coverage to the administrators of the GEICS database. It is important that you ensure that all information on your insurance policy is correct as any errors will also show up incorrectly in the database.
It is also important that you still keep a physical insurance card in your vehicle in case you are in a wreck and need to exchange insurance information with another driver.